top of page

Making Time for Family




One thing I like about being a blogger and author is using words to make others feel better. And when the Spirit of God blesses me with a message, I become consumed and cannot seem to stop typing. When divine messages flow through your thoughts, how do you handle a request from your ten-year-old granddaughter to play cards? After a moment, I closed my laptop and gave her my undivided attention.


In this digital world we live in, families are isolating themselves without even realizing the consequences of their actions. So, when Little Mamma, that’s what I sometimes call her, asked me to play cards, I was eager to accept her invitation. We played Uno, which she is a pro at, then, Go Fish, and Match. When my daughter was a child, we enjoyed playing several games. Now I have the grand opportunity to pass this legacy down to my grandchildren.


Proverb 22:6, NASB teaches us to train our children in the path they should go so that when they are older, they will not swerve from it. And what better way to fulfill this mandate than when playing a game of cards? We get to implant valuable principles into them, such as teamwork, fairness, and, most importantly, the love of God.


Likewise, in Hebrews 10:25, AMP, the Bible teaches us not to neglect meeting together and encouraging each other. Though this applies to gathering for a time of worship, we can apply it to spending time with family and friends as well. Game time is an opportunity to use as teachable moments. It is a means to foster encouragement and support, especially when someone does not win. We can still cheer them on and let them know how they can use their skills to serve God.


So, when my granddaughter is willing to step away from what she enjoys doing to play with Mema, I will make the time to fulfill her request. And we had so much fun, laughing, and the game of Match was super good for my memory. Ava is quite the encourager and a fair competitor. She gained some insights from me and I learned from her. Especially how to improve my skills at UNO.


Parents, despite how busy you are, make the time to spend some time with your children, even if they are grown. These precious moments with my family are priceless, and I won’t let any moment that the Lord blesses me to be with them slip away. Besides, God is all about family!


Enjoy the musical selection, Let's Make God Happy. I pray it stirs your heart and makes you leap for joy with your family!


TIME FOR REFLECTION: What valuable lessons do we teach our children and grandchildren when we make the sacrifice to spend time with them?





COMING SOON - VERNITA'S NEW BOOK RELEASE: INSIGHTS FROM CHRIST: PRICELESS VALUES FROM THE BEATITUDES





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page