top of page

With The Stroke of a Pen, Keyboard, or Our Mouths, Our Words Are Like Seeds




My Big Mama had the heart of a gentle servant of God and enjoyed helping others. If anybody needed food, Big Mama’s home was the grocery store. Maybe someone required advice. Big Mama offered wise counsel, which affected their lives. And even if you did not have a telephone, Big Mama’s home became the phone booth. They were never the same when they left my Big Mama’s presence. She never ceased to amaze me. 


Her words and actions captured my heart as I listened to her dictate letters to my cousin. She taught me that our words make a difference and have lasting effects. Our words have creative power, and we can do much with words. 


I enjoy using words to make others feel better. Proverbs 18:21 (AMP) warns us that death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it and indulge in it will eat its fruit and bear the consequences of their words. Beloved, our words are like seeds, taking root in the hearts and minds of those who hear them. We must be mindful of what we are planting whenever we speak. Because with our words, we can affect lives.


With the stroke of a pen, a keyboard, or our mouths, we can change the trajectory of someone’s life. We can encourage or discourage somebody. We can lift others or tear someone down. With our words, we can go online and badmouth or compliment a person. The next time you decide to go online to vent your frustrations, and those words are not pleasant or forgiving, breathe before you hit send. I urge you to think, before you act because not only do you ruin your reputation, you can hurt others. 


We can complain or rejoice. Likewise, we can preserve life or destroy it. How we express ourselves holds immense power and can result in dire outcomes. Or it could leave an impact that changes lives for the better. Even if it means your words convict them of their wrongdoings, approach them with humility and grace. Once you say those words, they become embedded in the hearts and minds of others. Some stay there for a lifetime and cause detrimental damage.


Some have had their dreams shattered because of something someone said. Then others, like me, have achieved the unimaginable because of what my Big Mama spoke into my life. We all need somebody like my Big Mama, whose words still encourage, equip, and empower us.


Learn to speak what God says about you, then you will rise above every lie from the enemy. Let your words align with the Word of God. Here are some Scriptures to help you refine your tongue. 


  • He calls us children of God: (1 John 3:1-2, NASB)

  • Jesus says I am forgiven and redeemed.  (Ephesians 1:7).

  • The Lord says, I am chosen, predestined, and I am His. (Ephesians 1:4-5)

  • The Word declares that we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. (Ephesians 2:10).

  • God says I am a new creation. My past does not define me. (2 Corinthians 5:17).

  • We are not under anyone’s judgment or condemnation because there is no condemnation for those in Christ Jesus. (Romans 8:1).

  • I am the light of the world. (Matthew 5:14).

  • I do not have to fear because God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power, love, and self-control. (2 Timothy 1:7, AMP).

  • Whatever season I find myself in, God is already there because He is greater than any challenges we face. So, no weapon formed against me shall prosper.  (Isaiah 54:17, NASB).

  • If anybody speaks anything God does not say about me, I will Fix my thoughts on what is true, honorable, and right, and pure, whatever is lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. (Philippians 4:8, NLT).

  • I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength because He has a plan and purpose for my welfare, and not to harm me, to give me a future and hope. (Philippians 4:13; Jeremiah 29:11, NASB).


Beloved, always use your words to encourage, inspire, and empower others. Use words to declare victory and not defeat. Think before you speak because your words are like seeds!


I pray the musical selection, Reflection of You by Ryan Stevenson stirs your heart to use words that reflect who Christ is.


TIME FOR REFLECTION: Regarding the conversations you engaged in this week, what seeds have you planted in others? Did they leave your presence filled with hope, encouragement, and inspiration? Let’s talk about it. Please leave your comment below.









12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page