top of page

Quitting Is Not an Option





I acknowledge that I would not be a multiple CBA author if I had given up. Some have heard my story of how a student in school said I did not write my play because she had already read it in a magazine. She spoke those words to make me doubt myself. She failed to realize her words were a compliment, so she failed to accomplish her goal. Still, I could have allowed those words to make me feel like I was not smart enough and give up writing altogether. So, why not give up and never write again? Yet, Scripture says He who began a good work in us will continue to perfect it. (Philippians 1:6).


And my Big Mamma was resilient, not a quitter, and neither am I. She was blind, but that did not stop her from getting her message out. Big Mama impacted lives by dictating letters to my cousin that helped others. Her actions stirred something in me to write my first murder mystery when I was nine years old. Little did I know that play would lead me to become an author and a feature writer at Faith Filled Magazine? That girl did not intend for this incredible milestone to happen. Yet, her words came to pass.


It has been years since that girl spoke those words, and I am still producing words that empower and equip others. Beloved, I urge you never to give up. Refuse to allow the words of your nemesis to make you stop becoming who God created you to be. Galatians 6:9 tells us not to get discouraged in doing good because we will reap if we do not give up.


You may have to use a different method, resources, or tools, but never quit. You may even have to take a break and then try again. Whatever skills God has blessed you with, He did not do so for you not to achieve your goals. He did so for you to be a role model for others and to make a difference in the world. And that will only happen if you keep trying. I am cheering you on because it never ends until you stop trying.


TIME FOR REFLECTION: What is the greatest challenge you had to overcome in pursuing your dreams? Please share with us how you conquered those obstacles. Leave your reply in the comment box below it will encourage countless others. Remember to hit that heart and share this devotional.


I pray the musical selection; Seed of Faith by Charity Gayle stirs your heart and reminds you to have faith in God. He will bring it to pass.










Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page