top of page

I Am Not a Dog - 7 Fundamental Principles to Consider When Serving Others

Updated: Oct 19, 2023


Treat others in the same way that you would want them to treat you. Luke 6:31-36, NET

Public service is both a joy and a challenge. I know because I have served in this as well as the reciprocate of such. So, here is my story.


Several months ago, I contacted the Social Security office to fill out an application. The woman who assisted me was courteous and patient. She gave me an estimated time of how long this process may take. In the meantime, I continued to check online for an update. About a month later, I received a letter stating they needed more information. In my efforts to comply, I phoned the person in charge. Though she had a stern tone, my gracious attitude changed that. She informed me she required information from my insurance policy, though they had already faxed it. She did not say if they received it or not. So, I worked diligently with her to help her to complete the application.


We spoke several times in the last week of August to resolve this problem. By this time, I had requested the insurance company to fax the information again. She even allowed me to email a PDF file, which she later expressed was unacceptable because it was a snapshot. I even offered to bring the document into the office, but they were not allowing anyone to come in. Now, here’s the thing, she could have given me an appointment to come in. Likewise, time was of the essence because I had only a few days before she closed the case. My Site Manager of the building where I lived scanned the information and emailed it to her. Once again, I requested the insurance company to fax it. Then, I received a letter saying she approved the claim.


In mid-September, the person in charge phoned and yelled at me. She barked at me as if I was a dog. Her expression was demeaning, cruel, and disrespectful. She said the documents I sent were a snapshot. I could hardly get a word out. I asked again if I could bring papers to the office. Once again, she said they are closed to the public. I explained I was there but at a different department last week. She replied she would have to get approval, but that would take some time, and she would email me. In the meantime, I affirmed I would try to have the documents faxed again.


The Site Manager went out of her way and faxed it again. And I had the insurance company fax the form over again. Then, I emailed and phoned to let her know I had sent the documents. I requested her to confirm receipt. Because of how she talked to me, I called and put in a complaint. The representative I expressed my concerns to broke protocol and contacted the lady. She knows her and mentioned this was not like her. She informed me this lady wanted to apologize. It was fine with me, but I still wanted to speak to management first.


A few minutes later, the head of Social Security contacted me. She made a sincere apology, and I could hear it in her voice. What moved me was though she explained why she was so rude, she declared that was not an excuse. She mentioned that during this process, how kind and gracious I was, even in my emails. I asked if I could pray for her, and she allowed me to do so. Before the conversation ended, she assured me if I needed anything, I should call her.

I never heard from management, which made me suspect the complaint never went through. It prompted me to inquire. I even asked about the procedure when someone puts in a complaint. The man reassured me management receives these. I questioned if it was protocol to phone the person the complaint was on and inform them. He assured me this was not so; I explained this was what somebody did. He took my second complaint and said it could take a while before someone responded. Still, I never received a call from anyone.

My primary concern remained in reporting to management what occurred and explaining how the first person was more worried about her friend than how she treated me. Her actions took away my right to speak on my behalf. Beloved, I would have told the truth, been polite, and told how the woman made a genuine apology. The good that came from this is I phoned the head of Social Security some days later. It concerned a different issue, and she was kind and patient. Despite how rude she was to me, my initial kindness to her made a tremendous difference. I decided not to pursue this anymore.


Here are seven fundamental principles I learned from this ordeal.

1. Serve with Honor – When you speak to someone, serve them with the utmost respect, kindness, and patience. (Ephesians 4:29-32). You do not have to like the person, yet be professional and provide the best service possible. You choose this job and know it requires tact, professionalism, and compassion. Nobody can guarantee the recipient will be polite, but they have trained you to handle these situations. My friend, conduct yourself as a respectful representative of the company. If things get too much for you to bear, bring in your immediate supervisor to assist them.


2. Humility Looks Good on You - When somebody provides you with the service you need, sympathy and humility make a difference. (Philippians 2:3-5). Beloved, think of how you would want anybody to treat you, then do so to them. Your concerns matter, but this does not give you the right to be rude and nasty. With this social climate, everyone should have more gentleness and humility, including you. If you feel someone is not putting in their best effort to help you, ask to speak to their supervisor. And be honest and stay calm without an attitude.


3. Leave Personal Problems at Home -Do not take your personal problems out on others. (Ecclesiastes 3:1). Whatever issues you have, do not allow them to affect how you treat others. They did not bring this problem into your life. They are not the cause of this or knew it existed. Nobody should have to suffer for something they did not do to you. Please try to keep personal issues at home and do not let them affect those you work with or serve.


4. Let Kindness Overrule Rudeness – Be kind to people even when they are rude to you. (1 Peter 4:8-11). Now, this does not mean you allow them to mistreat you. Some offenses are minor and do not require a response. Still, others need accountability. Do so without anger and vengeance and be sure, to tell the truth without embellishing the story.


5. Grant-Easy Access - Make yourself available for easy access. (Ephesians 5:15-17). You know your schedule better than anyone. Be in place at least fifteen minutes ahead of schedule. Have all the necessary information available. Whether you go into the office or speak over the phone, come with a pleasant attitude.


6. Be Mindful of How You Treat People – Do everything in your power to not let people wait for long periods for service. (Galatians 5:13-14). You may need to call them back but tell them when you will do so. Be specific with the information you require. Talk to people like they are human beings using simple words they can understand, but not like a child that is hard to comprehend. Do not ignore them as if they do not exist, either. Show them respect.


7. Follow Protocol – When someone puts in a complaint, it is your job to forward such to the proper department head. (1 Corinthians 14:40). Your relationship with someone should not prevent you from following through with a request by a customer. When the lady did that to me, she made it appear my concerns were insignificant and I was unimportant. Her intercepting and trying to resolve this was unprofessional because she overlooked what happened to me. Now, I am for forgiveness. Still, some offenses warrant reporting, and the person is held accountable for their actions. It is why we must think before we act. It was not up to her to determine how this ordeal played out.


Still, some cases may need an intervention, but when you do so, consider how it affects everybody. In this case, stepping in caused the head of Social Security to acknowledge the error of her ways. I accepted her apology, showed her empathy, and took it no further. It was a fine example of putting the grace and mercy of God on display. (Romans 5:20).


My overall take from this experience is for everyone to be mindful of how you treat people. Act as though the person you serve or respond to is you. Then everything you do or say to somebody should bring out the best in you. Beloved, how we treat others does matter and could leave a lasting impression.



QUESTION FOR REFLECTION:

Everyone encounters minor and major situations in public service. If a representative of a company disrespects and demeanes someone, should a consumer put in a complaint even after the person apologizes? Explain your answer.


Let us encourage someone today. Leave a comment and share this vital blog. Thank you kindly.


I pray the musical selection, Glass House by Jaci Velasquez stirs your heart and faith in God.

FOLLOW ME:





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page