top of page

God, You Said ...

Updated: Jul 4




Thanksgiving is when families and friends come together to reflect on their blessings. We prepare a delicious meal with great anticipation. And Grandma’s famous apple pie or a festive cake is a must for this celebration. And what a fest it will be. We pull out all the trimmings. And only the best dinnerware and table setting deserves this memorable occasion. The fourth Thursday (if you’re in the US); arrives and so does the guest.


There are uncles and aunts from near and far. Children from the third and fourth generations are eager to greet each other. There may even be some last-minute cooking to be prepared. While, the aroma of the meal fills the house with comfort, joy, and peace. Someone has set the table. The family all gather and take our places. Someone offers the prayer of thanks, and we indulge ourselves. We laugh and go back for seconds or even a third meal. And what is Thanksgiving without dessert and coffee? Let’s not forget the reminiscing of events that remind us how grateful we are to be part of this blessed family. And even with the struggles and hardships, we made it to this day to honor God and pour love on each other.


So, this Thanksgiving, the Lord stirred my heart to ask my family and friends to share something they appreciate. I published this devotional and I am sharing it with you. And everyone has much to be grateful for. Whether it’s little or much, the Lord has blessed you. You may look at your circumstances and feel Jesus could have done more. He should have answered your prayers with a different outcome. And some may even doubt God will answer their prayers. Therefore, you feel justified and do not believe you have nothing to thank the Lord for.


However, as you read these personal testimonials; they shall encourage you because they are evidence of what happens when we obey and trust the Lord no matter what. Trust and obedience are in sync with Christ. With your relationship with Him, you cannot have one without the other. Then you can come to God and expect Him to answer your petitions because His promises are true. So, while you wait, allow these answered prayers to inspire and give you hope. And as you pray in submission to His will, remind the Lord of what He said, and speak His Word back to Him.


Candace Sorondo – I'm so grateful that the Lord uses nature to teach me. We all go through very tough times, but when I ponder the seasons the Lord reminds me that the snowiest winter eventually gives way to snow crocus. The brilliant sun will eventually break through the darkest storm. The beauty of fall gives way to the death of winter which is finally conquered by new life. The promised cycle of the seasons keeps me hoping for and expecting God's goodness.


Jeff Drinnan – I thank God for sending me Christian brothers to help and encourage me during tough times. The Word at my church challenges me, and I am encircled by my brothers and sisters there, especially the pastor who has been telling me what I need to hear and not what I always want to hear, especially in regards to a Christian woman I've been seeing for almost a year and am considering marrying. She also challenges and encourages me. I'm thankful that God sent people, along with His Bible, to help me see the big picture in life!


Margie Floyd – When things happen in life that cause me to question God, asking Him what is going on, and why is this happening? I learned to depend on and trust in God’s divine wisdom. He knows what’s best for me. So, I learned to put my faith in the Lord, not my job, not people, and certainly not the government. When things dry up in our lives, God always proves Himself, being the Lord God who always provides.


I pray the song; New Doxology by Gateway Worship Stirs your heart.


Have a Happy and blessed Thanksgiving.


Beloved, declare what God said. Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep his promise. (Hebrews 10:23, NLT)


For I hold you by your right hand—I, the Lord your God. And I say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you. (Isaiah 41:13).


When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. when you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. (Isaiah 43:2).


Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not be terrified or dismayed (intimidated), for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9, AMP).


16 “For God so [greatly] loved and dearly prized the world, that He [even] gave His [One and] [a]only begotten Son, so that whoever believes and trusts in Him [as Savior] shall not perish, but have eternal life. (John 3:16).


So, if the Son sets you free, you are truly free. (John 8:36, NLT).


So submit to [the authority of] God. Resist the devil [stand firm against him] and he will flee from you. (James 1:5, AMP).


If any of you lacks wisdom [to guide him through a decision or circumstance], he is to ask of [our benevolent] God, who gives to everyone generously and without rebuke or blame, and it will be given to him. (James 1:5).


For You, O Lord, are good, and ready to forgive [our sins, sending them away, completely letting them go forever and ever]; And abundant in lovingkindness and overflowing in mercy to all those who call upon You. (Psalms 86:5).


For I know the plans and thoughts that I have for you,’ says the Lord, ‘plans for peace and well-being and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. (Jeremiah 29;11).


And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians (4:19, ESV).


“For the mountains may be removed and the hills may shake, But My lovingkindness will not be removed from you, Nor will My covenant of peace be shaken,” Says the Lord who has compassion on you. (Isaiah 54:10, AMP).


“No weapon that is formed against you will succeed, And every tongue that rises against you in judgment you will condemn. This [peace, righteousness, security, and triumph over opposition] is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, And this is their vindication from Me,” says the Lord. (Isaiah 54:17).


Even though I walk through the [sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], and Your staff [to guide], they comfort and console me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You have anointed and refreshed my head with ]oil; My cup overflows. (Psalms 23:4-5).


The Lord is my light and my salvation—Whom shall, I fear? The Lord is the refuge and fortress of my life—Whom shall I dread? (Psalms 27:1).


It is the Lord who goes before you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or abandon you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” (Deuteronomy 31:8).


The Lord bless you, and keep you [protect you, sustain you, and guard you] 25 The Lord make His face shine upon you [with favor] And be gracious to you [surrounding you with lovingkindness]; 26 The Lord lift up His countenance (face) upon you [with divine approval], And give you peace [a tranquil heart and life].’ (Numbers 6:24-26).


FOLLOW ME

DONATE to these worthy causes:






Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page