top of page

Interview with Kery Nenn ~ Author of: 24 Ways To Pray Through Your Day


Greetings Beloved: Today I have the honor and distinct privilege to welcome to Neat's Author's ShowCase, my friend and colleague, Kerry Nenn, the astonishing Author of her new released book: 24 Ways To pray Through Your Day.

  1. Tell us more about who you, the person is? Besides being an Author, who is Kery Nenn?.....

My days are spent wordsmithing, and, between writing projects, I act as social coordinator, relationship builder, and event planner. Planning and hosting fun and unusual events for friends, family, and church groups allows me to combine my love for creativity and community. Passionate about the outdoors and sunshine, I bike and hike any time the Chicago weather allows. In 2000, I graduated from Evangel University with a bachelor’s degree in social work - a degree which I have yet to use professionally. I have been married for 17 years to my best friend and high school sweetheart, Chris. With a shared interest in travel, my husband and I have nearly met our goal of visiting all 50 states, making frequent road trips from our home base in the Northwest Suburbs.

In twenty-five words or less, I describe myself:

Wife, friend, daughter, sister.

Author, freelancer, photographer.

Hiker, biker, gamer, reader.

At the deepest level, Christian.

Life-long passion, writing.

1. Would you say that being an author is God’s plan and purpose for your life? If not, what is it and how do you accomplish it with your hectic writing career?

God’s purpose for my life is to glorify Him. One way I can do this is by using the talents He has given me. Since I have had a passion for writing since old enough to wield a pen, I believe this is a God-given desire. My hope is to use this passion to share what God teaches me, help others with the struggles in their lives, and point them to the Lord. With the diverse writing opportunities God brings my way, my prayer is to bring Him glory in everything I write, whether the topic is religion, recovery or roofing.

2. Your book; “24 Ways To Pray Through Your Day” is captivating. Just how vital is prayer in our lives? What do you say to the person who only uses prayer when they are in desperate need for God to answer their prayer? Will God hear and answer them when they pray?

God tells us in first Thessalonians to pray continually. Jesus, our perfect example, prayed. Clearly, prayer is essential. God also tells us in James that we should draw near to God, and He will draw near to us. So, if someone runs to God in desperate times, they can know He will be there. Nothing can separate us from His love (Romans 8:38). He tells us repeatedly in His word to come to him, ask him for help, trust him, and communicate with him. I don’t know what the answer will be to every petition and plea, but I do know that God hears, is able, and works all things together for the good of those who love Him.

3.There are several books on the market regarding prayer, what benefits will your readers gain from reading your book?

24 Ways To Pray Through Your Day focuses on praying in the midst of our daily chaos. We often hear about the importance of setting aside time each day to pray and have a quiet time with God (which I agree is important), but we aren’t usually reminded to pray continually (1 Thess. 5:17). It’s not just about those devoted times. It’s about taking every situation and every moment to our Father. This book offers practical ways to shift our focus back to God throughout our day. The goal is that prayer is no longer part of our day, but it is our day – a constant communication with the Lord.

4.Do you have other books you have written? Please give us a brief outline of a few of them. Or, what’s in the future for your writing career?

My book, Random Thoughts, is a collection of poetry, scripture and commentary. It provides a glimpse into the common struggles that threaten to separate us from each other and the Lord, including fear, doubt, apathy and despair. This paperback is available on Amazon. I hope to soon publish a print version of 24 Ways To Pray Through Your Day, in addition to the e-book format currently available. Lord willing, my next project will be to continue this as a series of other 24 Ways books, such as 24 Ways To Serve Through Your Day. I am also currently seeking a publisher for my completed book on biblical friendship, which is designed for individual and small group study.

5. What counsel would you give to a new author who has a passion to write but doesn’t have the confidence to believe they can accomplish such a goal? What can you do to help them get started?

Writers struggling to get started can check out my blog series 7 Deadly Sins for Writers. This hits on the major internal battles writers often fight that can keep us from pursuing our passion. I also encourage writers to be willing to explore new avenues. I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was five. For over two decades, I thought that meant I had to write fictional novels. I didn’t think I could do that, so I never seriously pursued writing. Over the past few years, I’ve learned there are so many more opportunities than my narrow view ever saw. I started out writing a few articles here and there on the side and am now writing full-time. (Praise the Lord!)

Lastly, of course, PRAY. Then pray some more. Ask others to pray for you. God is SO much bigger than any obstacles and insecurities we think might block our path. Pray – and trust that God will answer. Lay your desire to write as His feet, and ask Him to do with it what he wants, for His glory. He will do amazing things in you and through you that you never thought possible.

6. How can you be contacted?

I would love to hear from readers and other writers. I can be reached through the 24 Ways Facebook page, www.facebook.com/24WaysToPray or my website www.nennpen.com.

Thank you, Kerry for taking time from your busy schedule to be interviewed. May God continuously bless the work of your hands. And I encouraged everyone to purchase a copy of "24 Ways To Pray Through Your Day." You will be enriched through these heartfelt prayers. And ORDER your copy for only. $0.99 from - www.amazon.com

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page